Skip to content
thispeptide

BPC 157 Dosage: Why No Human Dose Exists, and What Studies Used

No trial has set a human dose of BPC-157. Here is what the rat studies and three small human reports gave, and why none of it translates into a dose for a person.

Article type
Safety
Sources
13
Reading
7 min
By Craig PalmerPublished

BPC-157 has no human dose. No trial has tested a range of doses in people to find one that works and is safe, which is how a dose is normally set. What exists is a record of what individual studies gave, mostly to rats.

This page lays that record out, so the numbers circulating online can be traced to their source. Nothing here is a dose for anyone to take. What the human studies found is covered in the human evidence for BPC-157, and what they recorded as harm in BPC-157 side effects. BPC-157 sits under the recovery goal as a research-only compound.

Why no dose exists

A drug’s dose normally comes from three steps: toxicity studies in animals, small human studies that raise the dose step by step, and larger trials of the doses that look safe. BPC-157 has not been through the second or third step. A 2025 systematic review found 36 eligible studies, 35 of them preclinical and 1 clinical, and no clinical safety data [3].

The FDA reviewed the first step when BPC-157 came up for compounding in 2026. Its briefing found acute and 28-day toxicity studies only for injection into muscle [1]. It found none by the routes nominated for compounding: by mouth, rectally, under the skin or in the nose.

That gap blocks the usual arithmetic. The FDA wrote that without bioavailability studies for those routes, the no-adverse-effect levels found in rats and dogs cannot be used to estimate safe levels for the routes people actually use [1].

What the animal studies gave

The animal work repeats one dose unit: micrograms, or even nanograms, per kilogram of body weight. In a rat study of a torn muscle-tendon junction, BPC-157 was given at 10 micrograms or 10 nanograms per kilogram into the abdomen, or in drinking water, for up to 42 days [5].

A 2026 rat study of repaired Achilles tendons gave 10 micrograms per kilogram a day into the abdomen for 4 weeks, in groups of 8 rats [6]. The BPC-157 group’s tendon scores were lower, meaning better, but the difference from untreated rats did not reach significance.

The FDA noted a pattern in the gut and liver studies it reviewed. Where two doses were tested, they gave the same effect, so no dose-response relationship could be established [1]. Without one, there is no basis for saying more is better or less is enough.

What studies of BPC-157 gave, by species and route
StudySpeciesRoute and amountLength
Muscle-tendon junctionRat10 µg/kg or 10 ng/kg into the abdomen, or in drinking waterUp to 42 days
Achilles tendon repairRat10 µg/kg a day into the abdomen4 weeks
Blood-level studyRat and dogOne dose by vein; also into muscleSingle and repeated doses
Bladder pain pilotHuman (12)10 mg total, injected into the bladder wallOne procedure
Infusion safety pilotHuman (2)10 mg by vein, then 20 mg the next day2 days
What studies of BPC-157 gave, by species and route The studies cited on this page. None of these amounts is an established human dose.

How long it lasts in the body

The study that traced how BPC-157 moves through the body was in rats and beagle dogs [4]. Its half-life was under 30 minutes, whether given by vein or into muscle. Injected into muscle, 14% to 19% reached the blood in rats and 45% to 51% in dogs.

The peptide was broken into small fragments and then single amino acids. No human results on this have been published, so how long a dose lasts in a human, or how much of it reaches the blood, is not known.

What the three human reports used

All three human reports share a first author, and none had a control group. In 12 women with interstitial cystitis, 10 mg in total was injected around the inflamed bladder wall in a single procedure [8]. In 2 adults, 10 mg was infused by vein on one day and 20 mg the next [9].

The third, a chart review of knee injections, does not state the amount in its abstract [7]. Of 12 patients given BPC-157 alone, 11 reported significant improvement, in a phone survey six months to a year later.

What the registered trials plan

Three registered trials name BPC-157 in their titles. The largest, in 120 adults with hamstring strains, gives a daily injection under the skin or placebo for 14 days [10]. It was recruiting at its last update, and its public record does not list the dose.

An older phase 1 study planned oral tablets, each described as containing 1 mg, in healthy volunteers [11]. Its status is listed as unknown and it has posted no results. A pilot in rotator cuff surgery has not yet begun recruiting [12].

Where it stands with the FDA

BPC-157 appears in none of the three categories of the FDA’s list of bulk substances nominated for compounding, updated May 14, 2026 [13]. The FDA’s own briefing for its July 2026 advisory meeting concluded that the evaluation criteria weigh against listing it [1]. Until a trial reports, the honest answer to the dosage question is that there is not one.

For the peptide most often sold alongside it, see TB-500, and for the one study that gave the two together, see BPC-157 and TB-500 together. For how its legal status works, see are peptides legal.

Frequently asked questions

What is the human dose of BPC-157?
There is none. No trial has tested a range of BPC-157 doses in people, it has no FDA label, and it is on no list that lets pharmacies compound it. The amounts quoted online trace back to rat studies and three small uncontrolled human reports.
What doses did BPC-157 animal studies use?
The rat studies cited here used 10 micrograms per kilogram, given into the abdomen or in drinking water; one also tested 10 nanograms per kilogram. The FDA noted that where two doses were compared, no dose-response relationship could be established.
What doses did the BPC-157 human studies use?
A bladder pilot in 12 women used 10 mg in total, injected in one procedure. An infusion pilot in 2 adults used 10 mg by vein, then 20 mg the next day. A knee chart review does not state the amount in its abstract. None had a control group.
Is there a BPC-157 clinical trial?
Yes. A placebo-controlled trial in 120 adults with hamstring strains gives a daily injection under the skin for 14 days and was recruiting at its last update. Its public record does not list the dose.

Sources

13 cited
  1. 1U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, July 23-24, 2026: FDA Briefing Document for BPC-157-Related Bulk Drug Substances FDA. Source
  2. 2U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks FDA, Human Drug Compounding (content current as of April 22, 2026). Source
  3. 3Vasireddi N, et al. (2025). Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review HSS Journal. PMID 40756949
  4. 4He L, Feng D, Guo H, et al. (2022). Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157, a potential drug for treating various wounds, in rats and dogs Frontiers in Pharmacology. PMID 36588717
  5. 5Japjec M, Horvat Pavlov K, Petrovic A, et al. (2021). Stable Gastric Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 as a Therapy for the Disable Myotendinous Junctions in Rats Biomedicines. PMID 34829776
  6. 6Biçer O, Adanir O, Güleryüz Y, et al. (2026). Effects of BPC-157 and TB-500 on Achilles tendon healing in rats: A histopathological and biomechanical study Joint Diseases and Related Surgery. PMID 42542926
  7. 7Lee E, Padgett B (2021). Intra-Articular Injection of BPC 157 for Multiple Types of Knee Pain Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine. PMID 34324435
  8. 8Lee E, Walker C, Ayadi B (2024). Effect of BPC-157 on Symptoms in Patients with Interstitial Cystitis: A Pilot Study Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine. PMID 39325560
  9. 9Lee E, Burgess K (2025). Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine. PMID 40131143
  10. 10ClinicalTrials.gov (2026). BPC 157 for Acute Hamstring Muscle Strain Repair (NCT07437547) U.S. National Library of Medicine. Source
  11. 11ClinicalTrials.gov (2015). Phase I, Pilot Study in Healthy Volunteers, to Assess the Safety and Pharmacokinetics of PCO-02, Which Active Ingredient is BPC-157 (NCT02637284) U.S. National Library of Medicine. Source
  12. 12ClinicalTrials.gov (2026). Impact of BPC-157 on Recovery From Rotator Cuff Repair Surgery (NCT07803250) U.S. National Library of Medicine. Source
  13. 13U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act (updated May 14, 2026) FDA. Source

More on recovery